Facebook Pixel Code
Updated March 2017

$2,000 Design Scholarship!

Updated March 2017

Scholarship Details

Calling all student-entrepreneurs, student-inventors, and student-designers ... welcome to BestReview's Scholarship Page!

We live in a world surrounded by products ranging from electric toothbrushes to lawn mowers to air mattresses. How is a consumer supposed to decide which is best? There are many important questions we ask ourselves at BestReviews when first studying a product with which we are unfamiliar such as: is it effective; is it user-friendly; is it durable; and most importantly, is it safe?

Once we find a product that is easy to use (for a non-expert) and safe while still effective and durable, we know we’ve found something special. This scholarship was created to get you thinking about product design and what makes something "user-friendly."

We're looking for scholorship applicants to write a 500-word (or less) essay on the following:

How can great product design positively impact the world? What have you done to showcase your passion for product design? Do you have a unique idea that can make an already existing product better with the backbone of being user friendly, safe, and effective? 

The winner will receive a $2,000 check to be spent on tuition fees and supplies.

We want to encourage ideas on how to improve a variety of products. Whether it's coffee makers, pressure washers, carpet cleaners, or office chairs, we're curious about your ideas! Your entry may include diagrams, sketches, or templates, or nothing but words. Please include your designs with the essay if you are comfortable sharing them. 

 We offer this scholarship twice per year so please pay close attention to the deadlines. 

How to Apply

Send in your completed work to: scholarships@bestreviews.com

Your submission must be sent from your school email address.

Your submission will include the following: 

  • Copy of Student ID
  • A 500-word (or less) essay which answers the prompt: How can product design impact the world in a positive way?

All submissions should be in PDF form and in Times New Roman 12-point font, double-spaced.

Important dates:

  • Submissions open Jan 1, 2017
  • Application deadline: June 1, 2017
  • Scholarship recipient announced: June 30, 2017
  • Submissions re-open July 8, 2017
  • Application deadline: December 1, 2017
  • Scholarship recipient announced December 15, 2017

Eligibility Requirements

We will only be accepting candidates who are either studying at or can show proof they are enrolled with an accredited school program. This is an international competition. Ages 5-100 may apply. Terms and conditions apply.

Terms & Conditions

Specific Information?

  • Applications are open until 11:59 PM PST on the 1st of June 2017. Applications received after the deadline has passed are not eligible for the scholarship awarded on the 30th of June 2017, and will instead be eligible for the scholarship awarded on the 15th of December 2017.
  • The application must be written in English.
  • All of the technical aspects of the application must be met for it to be considered.
  • Must be a student in an accredited university or high school.
  • Employees and contractors of BestReviews cannot apply.
  • Your submission constitutes agreement with all of the terms and conditions set forth in this document and any additional documents or revised versions of these documents.
  • If you do not agree with any of the eligibility criteria, please do not apply for the BestReviews scholarship. Void where prohibited.

How will BestReviews determine the winner?

  • BestReviews will select a recipient based on a number of criteria, including the quality and applicability of the content submitted.

How will the scholarship be paid?

  • The scholarship will be paid as $2,000 USD
  • Each scholarship will be non-transferable and will be made in the form of a check payable to the higher education entity attended by the student.
  • The recipient of the scholarship must submit all needed proof of student status to receive the award.
  • No cash will be awarded.
  • Awarding of the scholarship is contingent upon eligibility and all terms and conditions.
About Us

About BestReviews

BestReviews mission: To arm consumers with clarity and confidence to simplify their purchasing decisions. We do this by combining expert advice, consumer feedback, as well as lab and field based testing to provide the most comprehensive product reviews possible. So how are we different from other online review sites? There are a number of reasons, but one is that we never accept any products from the manufacturer. We think freebies can affect objective analysis. As a result we have integrity in our testing process and results. We look forward to helping more consumers around the world make the right purchasing decisions.